States Open to Travelers With Restrictions and Quarantine Requirements In Place.

Order of the day: Social distancing within the U.S.

With limited international travel options, many Americans are exploring domestic destinations this summer. Not all states, however, are welcoming visitors with open arms, especially for would-be travelers from states like Florida and Texas with recent spikes in COVID-19 cases.

New York, once the epicenter for coronavirus cases, has partnered with Connecticut and New Jersey to create regulations designed to prevent new community spread in the Tri-State area. Residents and visitors entering these states are subject to a 14-day quarantine if they are coming from a State with an average of 10 percent or higher positivity rate over the previous seven days. As of June 30, arrivals from 16 States would require quarantining: Alabama, Arkansas, Arizona, California, Florida, Georgia, Iowa, Idaho, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, Nevada, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, and Utah.

<strong><span class=has inline color has luminous vivid orange color>A trip across state line can be refreshing<span><strong>

Rhode Island has similar requirements but sets the bar for quarantine requirements at a 5 percent positivity rate. To bypass this quarantine requirement, those entering Rhode Island can provide proof of a negative COVID-19 test taken within 72 hours before arrival.

Florida, Kansas, and Oklahoma also have state-specific quarantine requirements based on a traveler’s point of departure. In contrast, travelers headed to Maine and Massachusetts are exempt from the quarantine requirements if they depart from individual Northeastern states.

Other states such as South Carolina, New Hampshire, and West Virginia are taking a different approach by merely recommending but not mandating any type of quarantine for visitors or residents.

North Dakota has specifically aimed at those entering the state after international travel by requiring them to self-quarantine and monitor their symptoms for 14 days. Nebraska and Virginia, on the other hand, are recommending but not requiring quarantine for international travelers. Illinois requires a two-week quarantine for international travelers, explicitly coming from China, Iran, Italy, and South Korea.

State travel restrictions often change as the COVID-19 pandemic evolves across the country. Travelers are encouraged to check testing and quarantining requirements before making any vacation plans.

Guest Writer: Jessica Poitevien

Jessica is a freelance journalist on a quest to see and experience everything our gorgeous planet has to offer and to share her experiences with her fellow travelers. Jessica has written for several world-class Travel Magazines. Email Jessica at

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top